> Safari Zones In Kaziranga

Safari Zones in Kaziranga National Park

Spread its wings in the 430 sq km of the countryside land, the Kaziranga National Park is one of the prominent wildlife destinations in India. Known as the Hub of the Biodiversity, the Kaziranga forest is the protected natural home to the various endangered wild animal species. The park is declared as the World Heritage Site due to its amazing wildlife that has the highest number of the one-horned Rhinoceros in the world. The large grasslands of the Kaziranga forest and the amiable surroundings are the perfect habitats for the survival of the endangered one-horned Rhino.

The Kaziranga National Park is also known for having the five big wild animals in its vicinity which are one-horned Rhinoceros, Asian elephant, Royal Bengal tigers, Wild Buffalos and the Swamp Deer. The other wild animals which are the native to this forest are Sloth Bear, Leopards, Hog Deer, Wild Boar, Hog Badger, Hoolock Gibbons, Capped Langur, Golden Jackal, Indian Grey Mongoose, Fishing Cat, Large and Small Indian Civet, Bengal Fox, Indian and Chinese Pangolin, etc.

The Kaziranga Park is also a prime wildlife tourism hub in the Northeastern India and the various tourism activities are organized by the forest department. The Jeep safari and the Elephant safari are organized for the tourists to explore the rich wildlife of the park and get the sighting of the majestic wild animals of the forest. The Kaziranga National Park is divided into the four tourism zones which are the Central Zone or Kaziranga Zone, Western Zone or Bagori Zone, Eastern Zone or Agaratoli Zone and the Burapahar Zone. The Jeep Safari is organized in every zone while the Elephant Safari is organized only in the Central Zone and the Western Zone.

The timings of the Elephant Safari and their safari routes may vary with the change of seasons and weather conditions. The park management has the rights to decide and change the Elephant safari timing, Safari route, number of Elephant safari and the number of shifts allowed in the park. All the four zones of the park have the enriched and distinct wildlife with the dense forests, large grasslands, diverse range of wild animals and exotic birds along with the mesmerizing and picturesque beauty of the landscape. Safari in any zone will take you to the deep in the forest so that you can extensively explore the wild flora and get the sighting of the wild fauna of the forest. As every zone is the part of the same Kaziranga forest so there is no any good zone or bad zone.

Central Safari Zone in Kaziranga:-

The entry gate to the central zone of the Kaziranga Park is located in the small town of Kohora, around 2 km from the bus stop at the National Highway. The central zone starts from the Mihimukh riding tower, which is the Elephant safari point. Tourists who have booked for the Elephant safari will ride the Elephant from this point for the one-hour elephant safari in the central zone of the park. Both the jeep safari and elephant safari are organized in this zone and the tourists can enjoy both the safari by obtaining the permit for the same from the tourism office of the central zone.

Western Safari Zone, Bagori Kaziranga:-

The entry gate to the western zone of the Kaziranga Park is located at the place named Bagori at the Kaziranga. The Bagori tourism office is the starting point of this zone from where tourists can take the ride of Elephant safari and Jeep safari to explore the forest. The western zone is the most preferred tourism zone in Kaziranga for the elephant safari as the landscape of this zone provides the opportunity to get the very close sight of the one-horned Rhino.

Eastern Safari Zone, Agaratoli Kaziranga:-

The entry gate of the eastern zone of the Kaziranga Park is situated in the small town of Agaratoli which is located on the National Highway. The Agaratoli tourism office is the starting point of this zone and the Jeep safari is organized in this zone. The eastern zone also offers boat safari inside the park, which can be an amazing experience to explore the wildlife around the water bodies of the park. The eastern zone is home to numerous exotic water birds which can be viewed perfectly using the binocular.

Burapahar Safari Zone Kaziranga:-

The entry gate of the Burapahar zone of the Kaziranga Park is located at the Ghorakati village. The Rhinoland Park is the starting point for the Jeep Safari in this zone. The Burapahar tourism zone is the hilly terrain with beautiful scenery of Nature, and also considered best for birding. The zone also offers the trekking in the forest on the designated route which can be a very enriching experience to explore the dense forest so close by walking on your foot and get the feeling of closeness to Nature. The above mentioned four tourism zones are administered by their respective zone office and the permit for the Jeep safari and elephant safari can be obtained from the office counter.
The elephant safari is organized for one hour and the Jeep safari is organized for one and half hour to two hours. No private vehicles are allowed to enter the park so you have to book only registered safari vehicle operated by the Jeep Safari Association from near the office to get inside the park after obtaining the permit. Inside the park, you have to follow the rules and regulation of the Kaziranga National Park for your safety as well as the safety of the endangered wild animals. Every Jeep safari is escorted by the armed forest ranger and no any vehicle without an escort is allowed in the park.